Skoolie

If you follow us on instagram then you  might know already. We bought a bus… to live in!! We are pretty excited about it and have gotten nothing but support from family and friends so far.

image

image

No camera here except a silly tablet so you get screenshots! We won’t talk about the colors from the ski company that had it prior but the couple we actually bought it from was so lovely. Loved them.

We had gone through all sorts of ideas. Everything from earthbag to container homes, yurts and wall tents, small cabins and just buying a conventional tiny house outright. None of them worked for us because of a few different reasons. Either we didn’t have the money, or we didn’t have the time or know-how. What we did need though, was a place to call home this summer so we could save up for our winter amenities. The man of this house departs from the Army January of 2016 but we will have to be out of base housing before then. And do you know how fun it is jumping from house to house? Lots of fun when have that adventure spirit and don’t mind guarding someone else’s carpet.. NO FUN when you are sick of moving and sick of being a slave to someone else’s carpet. I refused to jump in another mortgage for another house we didn’t need and I knew we wanted something tiny. Even in our big 4 room house now we aren’t using all the space and we never have. The other catch was we don’t know how to build a house and I didn’t feel it was fair to ask so much of my hard working husband when he already provides the provision. I sure couldn’t do it with kids at my legs.

Anyway, this is where we are!

This has been one blind decision after another. I had a long list of other plans ready to hatch and bring forth, but not a single one of them panned out. This all happened both on a whim and with a lot of thought given to it. Of course we aren’t the first to do this, and won’t be the last. I know a few questions that I can see coming (that excite me!!!) might revolve around how we will do it and my best answer to that is to imitate, not innovate. It is NOT about trying to cram our home and lifestyle into a tiny dwelling and make that work. It IS about changing our life to best suite what matters to us. So far I have given away many of our belongings and I am about to give away all of our furniture for free. We could sell it and use the money, but the amount of money we would get is not equivalent to my time waiting for people to show up and haggling over prices, so I will bless others with the free gift just as we have generously received so many free gifts. So far it feels amazing.

Wish us luck on the process. Things take time so why not chat while we wait? 🙂


One thought on “Skoolie

Leave a comment